Campus News in Brief

After serving more than two years on the Homeland Security Advisory Council, Carnegie Mellon President Jared L. Cohon was appointed the chairman of the Secure Borders and Open Doors Advisory Committee, the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of State announced last month.

The new committee will help develop federal policies regarding how people from other countries come into the United States for a multitude of reasons, President Cohon said in a January 5 article in the Chronicle of Higher Education.

The committee is made up of 18 members from academia, the tourism industry, health care, and the private sector, according to the Department of Homeland Security's website.

John S. Chen will serve as the committee's co-chair. Chen is the president and CEO of Sybase, a company specializing in the development of wireless technology. He serves on the board of directors of the San Francisco Symphony, the US Chamber of Commerce, the Presidents Export Council, and the Walt Disney Company, and is actively involved in the international relations of the United States and China, according to the Department of Homeland Security's website.

Other members of the committee include Jay Rasulo, chairman of Walt Disney Parks and Resorts, and J.W. Marriott, chairman and chief executive officer of Marriott International, Incorporated. Prior to his work for Disney, Rasulo served on the United States Travel and Tourism Advisory Board, and also worked for the Marriott Corporation. Marriott has served on the President’s Export Council and the United States Travel and Tourism Advisory Board.

From academia and healthcare, members are Eduardo J. Padron, President, Miami-Dade Community College; Dr. Paul B. Roth, executive vice president for Health Services, University of New Mexico; Roxane Cohen Silver, professor of psychology, University of California Irvine; Rose Mary Valencia, director, Office of International Affairs, University of Texas Health Science Center; and Charles Vest, president emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The committee's first and only meeting took place on December 6.